

# Carroll County Board of Elections



300 South Center Street, Room 212 Westminster, MD 21157-5366

410-386-2080

MD RELAY: Call 711 or 800-735-2258 (TTY)

Toll Free: 1-888-302-8978

ccboe@carrollcountymd.gov elections.carrollcountymd.gov FAX: 410-876-3925

Carroll County Board of Elections Board Minutes March 29, 2021

### **Present:**

Board
Griffith Manahan, President
John Woodley, Secretary, by telephone
Laura O'Callaghan, Vice President, by telephone
Samuel Foster
Harvey Tegeler, by telephone
Staff
Katherine Berry, Election Director
Paula Troxell, Deputy Director
Jay Gullo, Attorney
Guest
Kimberly Jones, by telephone

#### Call to Order & Welcome:

Mr. Manahan, President, called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. A quorum was present.

Mr. Manahan explained that Commissioner Rothstein has requested that the Board submit three nominees for consideration by the County Commissioners to serve on the Commissioner Redistricting Committee. The deadline to submit the three nominees is April 9, 2021.

Mr. Manahan stated that the nominees must serve on the Commissioner Redistricting Committee in a nonpartisan manner and must be able to work cooperatively with the committee and the election's office staff. He asked if any Board member wanted to be selected as one of the nominees. All Board members declined to submit their name as a nominee.

Mr. Manahan had requested that board members submit their recommendations to Ms. Berry prior to the board meeting. Ms. Berry provided the full list of recommendations to the board members. Mr. Manahan requested recommendations from the list of nominees that Ms. Berry provided. The nominees are Robert Caples, Andrew Demario, Gary Green, Martha Hankins, Kim Madeja, James McCarron, Phillip Miller, Laurie Shields, Jason Sidock, and Don West.

Mr. Manahan recommended that Kim Madeja, Jason Sidock and Don West not be considered since they are affiliated with central committees. Ms. O'Callaghan nominated her husband and Mr. Manahan stated that the nominees should be selected from the list provided by Ms. Berry.

After a discussion was held, Mr. Foster made a motion to select Andrew Demario, James McCarron and Laurie Shields as the three nominees; seconded by Ms. O'Callaghan. The motion passed unanimously.

## **Scheduling of Next Meeting:**

The next board meeting will be held on Wednesday April 21, 2021 at 10:00 a.m.

## **Adjournment:**

The meeting was adjourned on a motion by Mr. Foster; seconded by Mr. Woodley to adjourn the meeting at 10:26 a.m. The motion passed unanimously.